Recent Reads

I’m still struggling with trying to write reviews but in the meantime, I think I can recap some of my recent reads.

irresyoursIrresistibly Yours by Lauren Layne

I don’t recall reading this author before so when I read the blurb for this one, it sounded cute. I like tomboy heroines and Penelope really was that. Cole Sharpe is a sportswriter and he’s applied to be the editor for the new sports department of his friend’s men’s magazine. But he has competition – Penelope Pope. She’s moved to New York from Detroit without even getting the job yet but she needed a new start. And she’s so easy-going and friendly that despite she’s his competition, Cole ends up becoming her friend. She’s completely unlike any woman he’s been attracted to before but there’s something about Penelope that Cole is drawn to. I really enjoyed Cole and Penelope’s characters and seeing how their blossoming friendship became something more. Penelope moved to New York to get over someone and there’s definite growth to her character. The other thing was the secondary characters – they’re from a previous series so I’m definitely going to have to read that series, they were all well written. B+

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layneblurlll

This was another friends to lovers plot and since I enjoyed Irresistibly Yours so much I thought I’d jump right into this one. Parker and Ben have been best friends ever since freshman year of college. They’re even roommates and their friends can’t believe they’ve never went there with each other, ever. But Parker is in a relationship and Ben is a guy, afraid of commitment. Things change though when Parker’s relationship ends and she wants to try the dating scene, Ben style. Ben doesn’t like that idea but he’s a good wingman and he helps Parker out. However Parker doesn’t like the process and in a drunken lightbulb moment, she suggests her and Ben hook up. Ben says no at first but he can’t deny Parker is an attractive woman and with some rules, he agrees. Although this type of arrangement can be predictable, I think Lauren did a good job of keeping this story fresh. I liked how the conflict was internal, with Ben’s feelings of inadequacy and Parker’s needing to realize what she really wants. Another B+ for Lauren Layne. She is firmly on my radar.

gmmiaGunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews

Ever since RWA this summer I’ve been steadily making my way through the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews. A wonderful series that I just LOVE now and I’m so glad I’m catching up when there are so many books out to enjoy. None of this waiting for the next release. LOL Anyway, Kate is the kind of kickass heroine I get girl crushes on and Curran is the perfect balance for her. Plus all the mythology and world-building is spot on. So Gunmetal Magic is a full-length novel that features Kate’s best friend, Andrea Nash, a hyena (bouda) beastkin. I had a bit of trouble getting into this because I didn’t like Andrea…and I didn’t even realize it. LOL But reading her book, I changed my tune and I really got into the story. This was also a B+ read – it gave me more insight into Andrea’s character and I can’t wait to continue on with the series.

Rock Redemption by Nalini Singhrrns

Ok…this one. Kit annoyed the snot out of me.

Noah and Kit are really good friends and Kit believes they’ll be something more but Noah brutally sets her straight. Kit distances herself from Noah but she truly doesn’t let go so when Noah calls her at his lowest moment, Kit jumps up to help him. She tentatively agrees to let him back into her life but he’s still playing games and she cried a LOT. I was so annoyed at how much she cried. Seriously, after almost every encounter it felt like. BUT Nalini is such an awesome writer that I really wanted to see what was driving Noah to act the way he did. I guessed it pretty early on and by then I wanted to see these two get their HEA. So although I wanted to slap Kit a lot, I still liked the way everything was wrapped up. B+

So that’s what I’ve been reading recently. What about you?

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in mini-reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

