Another Year Older

I had a birthday this past week. I’m not one to feel the need to celebrate my birthday so I didn’t make any plans. There was a gathering yesterday since two family members have birthdays after mine – it was a good time with lots of laughs. But now that the birthdays are out of the way we can focus on Christmas. Our tree got put up today.

sheebtree

Here is She-Ra looking totally unimpressed with the tree. LOL

Anyway, thinking back to my birthday, I need to set some damn goals for myself for the coming year. I don’t want to be where I am a year from now. Tired, grumpy, stressed as hell, unhealthy. A big part of that is my job. I need to learn how to balance things better but I’ve been in flux so much its been hard to set a baseline. Even now when I thought things would be slowing down after we reached a big deadline, it’s actually gotten worse. Fortunately, short-term I am taking three weeks off over the holidays. Β This week will be my last week and it doesn’t seem so busy, looking at my schedule. I’ll be able to catch up on stuff. Yay.

And Christmas isn’t going to be too stressful. My parents and I agreed we won’t do gifts this year. Of course I’ll get them something small but there’s no pressure this year. Which is a relief.

So this next year I want to work on my health, mental and physical, find some balance and go on more trips! I’ve been debating New Mexico in April but I can put that on hold if I go visit some of my favorite peeps in California in February. *hint hint* haha And for sure this year I want to do another road trip in the summer – out west and south into the States. And I want to bring She-Ra along. My little side kick won’t know what hit her.

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Another Year Older

  1. SuperWendy says:

    You will let us know if you decide on California won’t you? πŸ™‚ And happy belated birthday!

    Like

  2. nath says:

    She-Ra is so cute!! Miss her πŸ™‚ Great picture with the tree πŸ˜›

    Finding a balance is the hardest thing to do. I hope you achieve it Ames! And how I wish I could travel with you next year, but 2016 is going to be crazy busy 😦

    Like

  3. Izzy says:

    Love your tree! Happy belated birthday!!! She ra looks so cute!

    Like

  4. Rowena says:

    Southern California in February? Well hello Canadian friend!! πŸ™‚

    Best of luck in the new year, my friend. I hope you have the best year ever.

    Big hugs!! Also? She-Ra’s picture is too stinkin’ cute. She really does look unimpressed with your Christmas tree.

    Like

Leave a Reply

