2015 In Review

babanner2015

Looking back, I didn’t do a yearly recap post for 2014 so I can’t compare to last  year. Which might be a good thing? LOL

So here is what my year in books looked like for 2015.

Total books read: 157

Genres:

  • Contemporary Romance – 77
  • New Adult – 25
  • Fantasy – 21
  • Historical Romance – 13
  • Paranormal Romance – 11
  • M/M Romance – 4
  • Contemporary Young Adult – 4
  • Historical Young Adult – 1
  • Non-fiction – 1

I’m not surprised by the amount of contemporary or new adult titles. I couldn’t get enough contemporary.  I am SHOCKED at how few m/m titles I read in 2015. FOUR? WTF? I need to change that in 2016 for sure. Also not surprised at reading so few young adults. There are a few books I skipped over that I will tackle in 2016. I’ve got quite the Sarah Dessen pile going. LOL

Formats:

  • E-Book – 133
  • Print – 12
  • Library E-Book – 6
  • Library Print – 6

Every year I strive to read more print books and I obviously failed spectacularly in 2015. LOL Also, what the heck is happening with me and library books? I’ve gone to the library so much and I only read 6 books? That’s a bit ridiculous in my opinion. I need to actually read the books I check out. Whoops.

Grades:

  • A – 13 (6 A, 7 A-) *only 2 were re-reads!*
  • B – 117 ( 72 B+, 38 B, 7 B-)
  • C -24 (13 C+, 11 C)
  • D – 3

I have to say, I had a good reading year. Not an excellent reading year (just based on the low number of A grades). Or am I judging books too harshly? Something to ponder this year. I didn’t even grade any books A+. Yikes.

Ok, here are some random things I marked down.

  • 20 books were re-reads
  • 1 Graphic Novel (Nimona. Really enjoyed it!)
  • 56 books were self-published, 27 were from e-publishers – so that means 52% of books were not published by the big 6. And with ebooks being more expensive in Canada, is this any wonder? E-publishers are my friend.
  • 76 books published in 2015 – reading so many self-published books means that I’m reading more recent books. I know from past years I usually read across a variety of years so I found this one interesting.

That’s my short and sweet recap to 2015. I *might* do a list of favorite books but it depends on how I feel later. I’m on vacation and I’m feeling super lazy. LOL

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2015 In Review

  1. Rowena says:

    You should definitely do a Best Books. Pretty please???

    When I read how many m/m books you read last year, I was shocked too. You only read four? How is that even possible? Is it because you weren’t in the mood or nothing made it to your radar? I find that very interesting since you’re the m/m queen. Well, you and Tracy. 🙂

    What was the non-fiction book you read?

    I need to do my post, I’ll work on that this week. For sure. Thanks for sharing your year in books. I loved it!

    Like

    • Bookish Ames says:

      The non-fiction book I read was Holly Madison’s Down the Rabbit Hole. She was one of Hugh Hefner’s girlfriends. It was interesting. She was very negative.

      I think I was just reading so many contemporaries – why m/m didn’t make it onto the radar. I was still buying it. LOL

      Like

      • Rowena says:

        Did you read Him by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy? I can’t remember if you did or not. And now I remember you telling me about that Holly Madison book. I remember you talking about her being negative.

        Yay! I can’t wait to see your best of lists. Woo hoo!

        Like

  2. nath says:

    I like the banner, Ames 🙂

    Those are all nice numbers! 13 As is pretty good no? I’ve been updating my spreadsheet and haven’t come across one yet and I’m up to May ^_^; I think I’m a bit too harsh… You’re usually fairer than me 🙂

    There is really a lot of contemporary romance on the market lately. I guess it’s all the different subdivisions – sports romance, MC romance, small-town romance, etc. So not really surprising that contemporary romance dominates your numbers. As for your m/m number being low, I see 2 possible explanations – you burn on them (I remember a year where they were really, really high) and with the decline in blogging, less buzz therefore less recs.

    Well total, it’s 12 books from the library (print and e) – one a month. that’s not bad, but it’s true that considering you go to the library quite often, it seems a bit on the low side.

    Technically, we never posted our list of Favorite reads for 2014… but I think I have it somewhere in the emails ^_^;

    Like

    • Bookish Ames says:

      Nath – 13 As is good. I’m not complaining about that! But I know that number has gone down from previous years. And I think part of it is less blogger buzz. I stopped following a lot of m/m blogs because I wasn’t really reading them and I quit Goodreads and I really liked the recs I got from the Josh Lanyon group on there. Ah well. I’ll go back to them eventually.

      So in regards to the library, since I’m trying to reduce the number of books I buy so I can tackle my tbr pile, I will either stop going as often (and request less books) or the opposite – request more books. Depends on how good I am at tackling the tbr pile. The other thing too – my library went to the self-serve checkout system and I don’t like it. I had a favorite librarian and we don’t even talk anymore, stupid machine took over. LOL

      Like

      • nath says:

        LOL, do you have to do self-serve checkout system? Yeah, I can see going either way – buying less = going to the library more… or focusing on the TBR pile and in that case, not needing to borrow books. Seriously, I should tackle my TBR pile as well… I just compiled my numbers and it’s good and sad at the same time how current of a reader I am ^_^;

        and you should see my number of A reads ^_^;

        Like

  3. SuperWendy says:

    I stopped keeping track of sub genres when I moved my record keeping over to GoodReads. I blame this on laziness and the fact that I haven’t created a single sub genre-style shelf over there unless you count my newly created “Stuff KristieJ Says I Need To Read” shelf LOL. My guess is that my subgenre totals are pretty evenly split between contemporary and historical. I tend to trade of on my reading (I just finished a historical so I think I’ll read a contemporary next!) in the hopes of avoiding burn-out.

    I think your grade totals are amazing! Especially the fact that you only read 24 C grades. I’ve had years where my C grades have been pretty high, and that’s kind of demoralizing. Too many “Meh, it was OK” books in a row and my spirit starts to flag.

    And you should do a Best Of list. Inquiring minds want to know 🙂

    Like

    • Bookish Ames says:

      Wendy – I’ll do a best of list since you and Wena asked. 🙂

      I have to keep track of my reads in a spreadsheet. It’s an ingrained habit now and sometimes I don’t put stuff into GR right away so there’s a possibility I could forget my start and finish dates. God forbid that happen! haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

