March 2016 Recap

March was a busy month! My cousin had a baby, my parent’s had their 33rd wedding anniversary, my great-grandmother had her 90th birthday party, I had a couple of suppers scheduled with friends, I went to see some of my cousin’s hockey games, I went to visit my Grandpa and I had the flu. So yeah, my reading took a hit with all that happening. But that’s ok. Quality over quantity and March was a great reading month. Check out what I read:

  1. Elements of Chemistry: Heat by Penny Reid
  2. Elements of Chemistry: Capture by Penny Reid
  3. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
  4. Hate F*@k by Ainsley Booth
  5. Us by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy
  6. Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs
  7. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert
  8. It’s All Relative by SC Stephens
  9. The Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata
  10. Under Locke by Mariana Zapata

The only book I didn’t enjoy was It’s All Relative. I’d read Thoughtless by Stephens years ago and didn’t enjoy the writing so I thought I’d give her another chance. Again, her writing style is not for me so I won’t read her again. I really enjoyed everything else I read though. My fave reads for March have to be Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas and The Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata. Since I live in Winnipeg, I wanted to see what the connection was in the book. Then I started seeing a bunch of positive reviews on Goodreads so that made me more intrigued. I liked that the focus was on the relationship developing. So after I finished that I bought the rest of Zapata’s backlist. I’ll make my way through them shortly, I’m sure.

Grades:
A – 1
B – 7
D – 1

* I didn’t grade Big Magic as that was non-fiction and either you care about creativity or you don’t. LOL If you do, I’m sure it’ll be an enjoyable read. I liked it, it had some good insights that I’ll ponder as I move along in my creative process.

All the books were e-books except Big Magic, which was a print book from the library. So another month of not reaching my 5 Print Books (from my TBR pile) goal. Ah well. It’s halfway through April and I’ve got 1 print book read. So this post is a good reminder for myself for the rest of the month.

That was March! How was yours?

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in monthly reads and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March 2016 Recap

  1. Kailana says:

    We are not talking again. We must remedy this!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

