Happy Mother’s Day

Happy Belated Mother’s day everyone!

My mom was out of town for the weekend (for a funeral) and didn’t get home until late this afternoon. She loved the gifts I got her as well as the fairy garden. She thought I bought it like that, but my brother and dad assured her I made it. LOL So I’m glad she liked it.

But it didn’t feel like a special day because she wasn’t here to spend it with us. So no lunch like we had planned, no movie like we had planned and no steak dinner like she wanted (because 1-our BBQ died last week and 2-we knew she’d be eating a big meal with her siblings and dad). It made me think about mothers who aren’t around to be with their children and it made me sad. So I’m grateful that I still have my mom even though I didn’t spend the day with her like I had wanted. We can do those things later this week. I’m just happy I have her.

 

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

  1. nath says:

    Glad she loved your gifts, Ames!!

    And awww. we’re lucky, that’s for sure.. .and that’s why taking her out for dinner and doing stuff with her shouldn’t just be restricted to Mother’s Day! 😛

    Like

  2. Rowena says:

    Thanks boo boo! Your gifts were awesome (especially the fairy garden) so I knew she’d love them. Great job on that. I talked to my sister about that and she had no clue what I was talking about but she’s game for it so we’re going to work on that.

    I used to get sad during Mother’s Day but now I remember my Mom fondly on Mother’s Day and while I still miss her like crazy, I’m grateful for the time I did get with her and I’m grateful that Brenna knew and loved her just as much as I did.

    Like

    • Bookish Ames says:

      Yes, Brenna was lucky to have time with her Grandma. I think about all my cousins that were born after my Gran and aunt passed away and I feel sad for them, that they won’t know such amazing women. But I always say they’re with me all the time.

      Let me know if you and your sis make the fairy garden!

      Like

  3. Kailana says:

    Glad she enjoyed her gifts! My mother was away so I didn’t see her, either.

    Like

  4. Hilcia says:

    Absolutely, Ames! Enjoy your mom even when she’s not there on Mother’s Day! So glad she loved your gifts.

    Like

  5. izzy says:

    You had some awesome gifts. So glad she liked them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

