YA Experiment

I read a YA recently (check out my GR if you’re interested which one) and it left me feeling…well, like a grumpy old person. LOL

I used to love reading YA. But over the last couple years new adult has replaced YA in my reading tastes. Which is fine. But this book slapped me in the face with why. The heroine of this particular book was just so immature. She annoyed the snot out of me.

So was this because of the heroine or was it the writing? I’m going to test this hypothesis out and read more YA – maybe it was the writing and I still really enjoy YA? We shall see. I’ll make a concentrated effort to read more YA over May and June and I’ll report back on my findings.

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to YA Experiment

  1. Izzy says:

    What is new adult?

    Like

  2. nath says:

    It’s like I was telling you – we read YA and then, we get annoyed when they act like teens LOL. However, in my opinion, the immaturity in the characters at times is too forced… When you think about it, the authors aren’t teens, so they have to think like teens and it just isn’t working at times.

    I find NA to be a bit too broad. Like it can range from characters in college to when they start their first job… and I feel I don’t connect that well with them.

    Like

  3. Rowena says:

    Izzy: New Adult is college aged kids falling in love at coffee shops in between football practice and music theater classes. Haha. But also like Nath said, young adults that start their first job and are fresh out of college and starting their lives without the safety net of their parents.

    I’m curious to see what you find out after you experiment. I find that I’m shying away from YA’s myself for the very reason that last YA didn’t work for you. NA is more my speed.

    Like

  4. Hilcia says:

    Reasoning behind my long-time reluctance to read YA Romance? They stopped working for me when I hit a certain age. I stopped appreciating the sentiments and began finding tons of questionable issues. I don’t know? Maybe experience triggered those issues, and, in addition, made me view YA romances from a distance, preventing emotional involvement?

    PS: I prefer YA SF/Fantasy, as long as romance is not involved, or it is not central to the story.

    Like

  5. Bookish Ames says:

    Whoops I thought I replied to comments on here.

    Izzy – Wena explained it pretty well.

    Nath – I connect better to NA characters than YA characters these days!

    Wena – Same. Gosh, what’ll we be reading when we’re in our 60s? LOL

    Hils – I think that’s what’s happening for me. I’ve reached a certain age. I’m further away from my teens and I’ve had more life experience so I’m past all that angst. But we’ll see, I’m going to read a few more books. I don’t want to think I’m totally over YA…otherwise I’d have to purge my tbr pile AGAIN.

    Like

Leave a Reply

