Book Deals

My original blog was about me being thrifty (majority of my print books are from the thrift store) and I like to think I still am.

Print books in Canada are expensive. Walmart has a 2 for $15 deal on paperbacks. I usually wait for new releases to pick them up there. Chapters has a couple of sales and plum points stuff going on so I patiently wait for those.

For e-books, there’s the Kindle Daily Deal. That’s part of my morning routine, checking that and Kobo for their daily deal. LOL And Kobo does coupons, so I wait patiently for those to come around. And I also check out Dear Author’s and Mandi’s Smexy Books daily deal posts for books on sale.

Where do you find cheap books?

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Deals

  1. nath says:

    I mostly get my books from 2 places: Chapters/Indigo and Kobo. I’m waiting for sales, promotions for both. It’s hard now that the prices of books have gone up 😦

    Personally, I’ve given up on used bookstores, since I’m more of a “new releases” person. I would consider to go back for backlist.

    Like

  2. Rowena says:

    I don’t pay attention to sales. I just buy what I want to buy on Amazon. That’s it.

    Like

  3. Leslie says:

    I used to be thrilled when I would get a coupon for Borders. Sadly, that’s gone. Now, it’s either used book stores or ebooks which is usually Amazon or directly from the publishers. The library too since I won’t pay the crazy prices for hardcovers and audio books.

    Like

  4. Bookish Ames says:

    Nath, the thrift store is good for trade size books. Or taking a chance on different genres. I get brave at the thrift store. LOL

    Wena – best response ever! But US book prices are a lot better than Canadian.

    Leslie – I usually get hardcovers at the library as well. And my library has been very good in the last while for getting new ebooks.

    Like

  5. izzy says:

    I don’t pay attention either. But I buy more when I have gift cards. lol

    Like

  6. Hilcia says:

    I DO look for deals, even though when I really want to read a book I pay the price. But, I pay attention to emails from amazing containing deals of the day, since I have the kindle. Their “first reads” program — free books before they release — is great for finding new-to-me authors. And, I also subscribe to newsletters from favorite publishers who send notices with coupons or sales.

    Additionally, I look for “free” online reads. Particularly in the SF category because books and magazine issues are so expensive and I love to read the genre.

    Like

Leave a Reply

