Re-Read: Mine to Possess by Nalini Singh

mtpnsAbout 2 years ago (but it feels like a year because I’m horrible at telling time or remembering things) I decided to re-read the Psy/Changeling series. I hit a road block after Caressed by Ice because a) I love Judd and b) I remember being annoyed by Talin in Mine to Possess. But Wena has been enjoying the heck out of the series lately and I was inspired to keep on with my re-read.

And I have to say, Talin annoyed me the second time around. She’s just so scared! As a child, she was abused by her foster parents and when Clay, also a child (but a leopard changeling) realizes what’s happen, he kills her foster father in a rage. But also right in front of her. So Talin has some issues around men, sex and Clay. As an adult, she searches Clay out because the young teens she works with are disappearing and showing up dead weeks later. She knows Clay can get to the bottom of this. Talin is afraid of Clay (on sooo many levels) and Clay is mad at her for a little bit but -spoiler- they get over these issues and the story moves on.

Once Tally realizes Clay isn’t going to hurt her and they actually get on with the search of the missing boy, the story definitely picks up. I liked revisiting the characters I love back in the early days of this series. I don’t regret rereading Mine to Possess. B-

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in book review, books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Re-Read: Mine to Possess by Nalini Singh

  1. Leslie says:

    I’ve gotten behind on this series and wish I had time to go back and re-read it from the beginning. Maybe then the magic of those first books would help get me back into the series.

    Like

  2. Rowena says:

    Man, this book feels like it happened in another lifetime. I’m so far past this book but I will never forget how much Talin bugged me in this book. Haha. That much remains crystal clear in my mind.

    Like

  3. Rowena says:

    Also? I’m so excited that you’re reading these books again. I love having someone to discuss these books with! I’m super obsessed!

    Like

  4. nath says:

    It’s a good decision to re-read the series, Ames!! πŸ™‚ Go for it!

    While Talin is annoying, at least, her fear is warranted. Even though there’s no way Clay would hurt her, it’s the whole trauma… and therefore, in that sense, I could understand where Talin was coming from.

    What grade did you give Mine to Possess initially?

    Like

  5. Hilcia says:

    I’m glad you reread the book, Ames. I remember loving Clay and being frustrated by Talin. But I liked the overall book — the introduction of the Forgotten, the Shine Foundation — and the way Clay and Talin finally came together as a couple. I’m so glad you got over the hump and will continue with the series reread. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

