June 2016 Recap

paintnite

First Paint Nite attempt!

June was a busy month – work wise and personally. Highlights are the bridal shower for my cousin, the Paint Nite with my friend, all the movies I went to see, my baby brother turned 20 and I went to see Theresa Caputo, the Long Island Medium. And I started a 4 week vacation at the end of the month. Go me.

Here’s what I read during the month of June:

  1. Wasted Words by Staci Hart
  2. Stealing Parker by Miranda Kenneally
  3. Dirty Sexy Inked by Erika Wilde and Carly Phillips
  4. Love the One You’re With by Lauren Layne
  5. Kulti by Mariana Zapata
  6. Bittersweet by Sarina Bowen
  7. The Madness of Lord Ian MacKenzie by Jennifer Ashley (re-read)
  8. Go Deep by Bella Love Wins
  9. Idol by Kristen Callihan
  10. Clubwhore by Kim Jones
  11. Prime Minister by Ainsley Booth and Sadie Haller

My top reads for the month were Kulti, Prime Minister, and Idol. I really enjoyed those books and they were quite different. Kulti was a soccer romance and in Zapata’s style, a slow burn romance that was oh so satisfying. Prime Minister was very sexy, with an older hero who is the PM and he likes control. Rowr. And Idol is a rock star romance that stands out, because the heroine is so awesome in her own way too.

Grades:
A – 2
B – 8
D – 1 (Go Deep – this author’s writing style just isn’t for me.)

Format:
E-Book – 11

Ugh, I really struggle with reading print books and it doesn’t even look like I tried during the month of June. At least with July I know I already read a library print book.

Genres:
Contemporary Romance – 9
Contemporary YA – 1
Historical Romance – 1

I had wanted to read more contemporary YA for my experiment but I think I figured that out. I still enjoy contemporary YA, but I don’t want anything too angsty. I had started a book but when I realized there was a dead parent and some mental health issues, I checked out. I don’t need a story to be completely fluffy but I don’t need high levels of angst. So the original YA book that set off this experiment? Part of that was the main character and the other part of it was writing.

How was your June?

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in monthly reads and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to June 2016 Recap

  1. Rowena says:

    Holy cow, you had an awesome reading month. Go you! I don’t even bother to read print books. I know that I’m not going to do it so I don’t. No more pressure. Haha. I need to get Idol read.

    Like

  2. Kailana says:

    I still rarely read e-books… I prefer print!

    Like

  3. izzy says:

    My june was slow. Well I was busy with my sister’s wedding. But that’s it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. nath says:

    June looked like a great month for you Ames! πŸ™‚ Would you do a Paint night again?

    Don’t force yourself to read print. Sometimes, it’s book availability.

    For YA, I’m sticking with nerds/geeks for a while LOL. I don’t want or need angst either. Or not over-the-top angst. Some authors really try and go overboard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

