Week in Review: Aug 8 – 14

wik
Hey everyone! How was your week? Mine was ok. Pretty quiet. My city was having a 2 week cultural celebration where different countries have pavilions where they have food and some type of cultural show (usually dancing). So I went to Argentina and Brazil. I’d been to both a few years back and I have to say, I was disappointed with the shows this year. So next year I’ll check out some different countries.

I was also disappointed with my reading. I’d started the Gunslinger and it could not keep my engaged, AT ALL. So frustrating. I had about 1/4 of the book left and I couldn’t pick it up for the longest time. I powered through it this morning and finished it. I’ll read book 2 whenever just to see if it gets better. But I think I have a basic understanding of the story for when the movie comes out.

I also re-read The Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata. I love that book. But Kulti is still my favourite of hers so far.
sundayhaul
I thought I’d share a picture of my haul from today. I hit up the thrift store and Chapters and got a ton of books and a new tote back. And the rocks are some I painted yesterday. I got them at that beach from last week.

This haul makes up for any disappointment I’ve been feeling over my slow reading week.

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in week in review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Week in Review: Aug 8 – 14

  1. izzy says:

    My weekend was all right. Went to joey’s cousin wedding. And then a car wash fundraiser. It was so hot though. lol. It felt good to be hit by the spray of the water.

    Like

  2. Kailana says:

    Nice haul! Enjoy your new books!

    Like

  3. Rowena says:

    Ooh, I’m loving your bookish pictures. You’re so bookstagram! 🙂 Great haul and I hope this week is for better books for you.

    I still need to read Kulti!

    Like

    • Bookish Ames says:

      I love Kulti. I should take it off my phone because whenever I have a spare moment I’ll start reading it randomly and then I’ll end up having to finish it. The way I was about KA when I discovered her books? That’s how I am about Kulti. I’m holding off reading MZ’s other books because I want something to look forward to.

      Like

  4. nath says:

    Nice haul, Ames 🙂 Loved that you placed your painted rocks in the picture as well! I can’t zoom in though 😦

    I didn’t realize you bought The Summer Bride already. And I love your new tote bag!! Very nice 🙂

    Like

  5. Bookish Ames says:

    Yeah one of the thrift stores I like to visit usually has some pretty recent releases. So whoever donates books in that area, she has good taste! haha

    I got that tote at Chapters for 5.95!

    Like

Leave a Reply

