Week in Review: Aug 15 – 21

wik
I had another slow reading week, which is fine because the books I did read were good.

I read Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld. I think I mentioned it’s a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice. I thought the author did a good job of capturing Austen’s characters. I lol’d a few times (usually because of something Lizzy Bennett said or thought) and overall thought it was a good read.

The second book I read was the Hating Game by Sally Thorne. I’m glad I heard about this book and I really enjoyed it. I love enemies to lovers and Lucy was a kick-ass heroine. There’s a scene where she takes someone down and omg that scene was wonderful. LOL I thought it was cute. And the kicker? I read this book in print in ONE DAY. Usually, when I read a print book, it takes me forever to read these days. My brain just prefers ebooks.

And the third book I finished was Let It Out by Katie Dalebout. This is a non-fiction book about journaling. I picked it up in May and I kept putting it down. Not because of the book, but just because it was print and non-fiction. However, I think the author has some interesting journaling prompts. I should have taken notes while I was reading. Anyway, I haven’t discussed it here before but I started bullet journaling back in January and there’s a lot of self-improvement talk on the bujo blogs and IGs and I used to journal way back in the day so I was looking for some inspiration. And voila, this book showed up in front of me at the library one day. And this is why I should have taken notes…because I didn’t journal as I was reading. Ah well. I’ll photocopy my favourite ‘tools’ before I return it later in the week.

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in week in review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week in Review: Aug 15 – 21

  1. Kailana says:

    Let It Out sounds good. I will have to see about getting a copy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

