Self-Published vs. Traditional Publishing

Looking back at my reads for 2016 so far, half of the books I read were self-published. It’s almost a 50-50 split. I think that’s so remarkable.

What about you? Do you track who the publishers are? Have you embraced self-published books?

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Self-Published vs. Traditional Publishing

  1. SuperWendy says:

    I used to track publishers when I used a spreadsheet, but after I switched over to GoodReads I stopped.

    I would say the vast majority of my reading is still traditional publishing with a small smattering of self-publishing. I do want to read more, especially since holy cats there seems to be a booming historical western self-pub community out there – it’s just a matter of time. So. Many. Books.

    Like

    • Bookish Ames says:

      See that’s why I like self-publishing. They’re publishing stuff that traditional pubs won’t. I feel like there’s more variety and yes sometimes you read a dud but there are some really talented authors out there self-publishing.

      Like

  2. Rowena says:

    I’m with Wendy. A huge chunk of what I’m reading these days is traditionally published. It’s what I like so I tend to stick with it.

    Like

    • Bookish Ames says:

      That makes sense.

      I think a big reason I read so many self-pubbed books is because I can use coupons on them at Kobo. Traditional publishers’ ebook prices are too high for this Canadian.

      Like

  3. nath says:

    Same with Wendy and Wena, more traditionally published books. The nice thing though about self-publishing is that it doesn’t follow a trend… or it’s there to circumvented a trend. Like Wendy said, there seems to be a boom in historical romance in self-pubbed and that’s because right now, the market is dedicated to contemporary romance. Authors that have seen their contract end at least have a way to still get the books to their fans. and fans are happy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

