September 2016 Recap

rock

rock painting for stress relief

Ugh, I did horrible blogging this month. Real life definitely got in the way of that and my reading, as you’ll see in a bit. But work had me scrambling for the majority of August and the first 2 weeks of September. Once that crazy was done She-ra had some health issues that I’m still dealing with. So for the last half of September I’ve just been worried about her and babying her. I barely read!

  1. The Layover by Whitney Gracia Williams
  2. The One Real Thing by Samantha Young
  3. The Will by Kristen Ashley
  4. The Search by Nora Roberts
  5. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  6. Jackson’s Trust by Violet Duke
  7. One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  8. The Goal by Elle Kennedy

Grades:
A – 2
B – 3
C – 3

Formats:
E-book – 6
Print – 2 (one from the library)

Genre:
Contemp – 5
Fiction – 1
New Adult – 1
Mystery – 1

I read the Girl on the Train to get ready for the movie. The main character, Rachel, really pissed me off. LOL Despite that I like how it unfolded and just guessed who the killer was right before the reveal. Can’t wait to see the movie and I really like Emily Blunt. The Will and the Search were comfort rereads. I really enjoyed The One Real Thing and One True Loves. I just finished the Goal and I don’t know if it was a combination circling around the drain of a potential reading slump or that it was about a pregnancy, but I wasn’t loving it. I liked Tucker and Sabrina. But when she had the baby? Meh. I didn’t want all that detail. That’s just me though. Luckily that wasn’t a big part of the book so when I felt it was slogging I just skipped those parts. I never skip when I read so is that saying something? Maybe.

Let’s hope October is a better month for everyone!

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in monthly reads and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September 2016 Recap

  1. Kailana says:

    I hope October is a great month for you!

    Like

  2. Rowena says:

    OMG, yes to everything you said about Rachel. I wanted to punch her in the neck so many times because she’s put herself in the middle of crap that was none of her business and then she was so freaking drunk she couldn’t remember half the crap she should have remembered. Ehh. But like you, I’m still excited to see the movie. Ha!

    What were the two books you gave A’s to?

    I’ve got my fingers crossed for you (and me) that October will be better for us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

