Mini-Review: One True Loves

onetruelovesOne True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

In her twenties, Emma Blair marries her high school sweetheart, Jesse. They build a life for themselves, far away from the expectations of their parents and the people of their hometown in Massachusetts. They travel the world together, living life to the fullest and seizing every opportunity for adventure.

On their first wedding anniversary, Jesse is on a helicopter over the Pacific when it goes missing. Just like that, Jesse is gone forever.

Emma quits her job and moves home in an effort to put her life back together. Years later, now in her thirties, Emma runs into an old friend, Sam, and finds herself falling in love again. When Emma and Sam get engaged, it feels like Emma’s second chance at happiness.

That is, until Jesse is found. He’s alive, and he’s been trying all these years to come home to her. With a husband and a fiancé, Emma has to now figure out who she is and what she wants, while trying to protect the ones she loves.

Who is her one true love? What does it mean to love truly?

Emma knows she has to listen to her heart. She’s just not sure what it’s saying.

I’ve never read this author before but when I saw a review for this book, I had to read it. I’m glad I did. Emma’s story was an interesting one and really makes you question who would you chose in this situation?

Emma and Jesse were soulmates and they dated for years before they married. On their one year anniversary, Jesse went missing when the helicopter he was in crashed, in Alaska.

Emma refuses to believe it at first but eventually grief sets in and after a while she starts to live her life again. Losing Jesse changed something fundamental in her and for someone who loved to travel and who could not wait to leave her small town, this change results in her returning home and finding happiness in one location. Then she runs into Sam, a close friend during her high school days. She eventually falls in love with Sam. And when they become engaged, Emma receives a call she never thought she’d get. Jesse is alive.

I enjoyed reading about Emma’s two relationships and how they developed but this book really got interesting when Jesse returns.

I’m saying that I have spent the last three and a half years of my life hoping with everything I have in me to see you again. And if you think that you being engaged to someone else is going to stop me from putting our life back together, you’ve lost your goddamn mind.

I could see why Emma would have a tough choice to make when Jesse re-enters the picture. Both the men she fell in love with are awesome guys. I felt that the way she reacted to the situation was done in a good way. In a situation like this, I can see myself getting annoyed with a character who can’t make up their mind and I can definitely say that wasn’t the case here. Jesse’s story of how he returned to the land of the living is quite incredible too. I definitely recommend this character-driven novel. I was happy with who Emma wants to spend the rest of her life with.The other thing I enjoyed was the angst level wasn’t high. Emma is a strong character with a good head on her shoulders.

Solid B.

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mini-Review: One True Loves

  1. Rowena says:

    OMG, I want to know who she ends up with…so who is it? Can you email me and tell me? Pretty please??? Great review Ames. But you always write great reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

