Week in Review: Oct 24 to 31

weekinreviewsheeb
As I’m typing this up, I have a sick pupper in my lap. She-ra ate something last night that had her puking bile all morning. I hope it comes out of her system soon!

This past week has been eventful. She-ra had a dental appointment on Tuesday. She had 3 extractions. I knew 2 teeth had to come out so that wasn’t a surprise. She recovered quite well. And then while I was at work on Tuesday, I fell on the stairs. I hurt my foot, ankle, knee, wrist, elbow and shoulder. I was quite sore on Wednesday. But I’m feeling better now. When my elbow started twinging not too long after I fell I had a flashback to when I fell four years ago and had a cast on my arm. I refused to go to the hospital again.

I managed to finish two books this week:

deimmstrsteelsc.jpg

Dirty English | The Strongest Steel

I didn’t enjoy Dirty English as much as I wanted to. I knew from the beginning I shouldn’t have kept reading. But I pushed on and even though it was an ok story, I hated what happened to the heroine and I just wasn’t in the mood for any angst. Which is *hilarious* when you consider the next book I read, the Strongest Steel. Scarred heroine, physically and mentally due to her boyfriend brutally assaulting her. Another book I should have put down when I got the lay of the land. Yes there was angst, but I ended up enjoying it in the end. I really liked the characters and the angst although it was heavy, it didn’t take over the story.

New to the TBR Pile:

The Billionaire Next Door by Jessica Lemmon | While the Duke was Sleeping by Sophia Jordan | Still Mine by Amy Stuart | I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

Since I just finished the Strongest Steel, I haven’t picked up anything new to read. Any suggestions? I was debating between re-reading something or picking up a Georgette Heyer title. Decisions decisions.

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week in Review: Oct 24 to 31

  1. Kailana says:

    Hope the pup feels better soon! I hate when Mackie is sick. Have a great week!

    Like

  2. Rowena says:

    I’m sending all of my good vibes that She-ra gets whatever it is that is making her throwup out of her system. That poor thing hasn’t had an easy time of it lately, huh? Hugs to her!

    It’s been a really slow reading week for a lot of people..myself included. I hope this week the reading Gods are better to us. And no more angsty reads! Do you have any other books on your radar? What are you in the mood for?

    Great book haul! Let me know what you think of The Billionaire Next Door. I liked it a lot!

    Like

    • Bookish Ames says:

      Hey Ween, my reading did eventually pick up. So I wonder what was in the water in October for so many people’s reading to have gotten so slow? Weird. Lets hope November is better!

      Like

Leave a Reply

