Week in Review: Jan 23 – 29

wirsheeb
I never know what to say from week to week. I survived? LOL I had a lot of meetings for work this week and it exhausted me. I’m an introvert and all the people really drained me. I can tell it caught up to me by Wednesday because that’s when I stopped writing anything in my planner. Despite that exhaustion, I kept up with my walking! I am going to Europe in 2018 and I know my trip will involve lots of walking and I want to be able to go for hours and hours. So I started walking on the treadmill. This post at Zen Habits inspired me and it’s working. I’m not making BIG changes so the little ones are easier to manage. And it helps with starting a habit. I can admit that I feel good and it’s fun to track my progress. And last but not least I went to see xXx: Return of Xander Cage with a friend. I wasn’t expecting a brilliant movie and it was exactly what you expect from the previews. But it was an evening out with a friend who had drifted away so it was nice to reconnect.

Anyway, here’s what I read in the past week.

Read

hhpuckedoverPucked Over by Helena Hunting

I also skimmed re-read Pucked (book 1 in this series) and it was fun to revisit the characters. In Pucked Over we have Randy, a hockey player and Lily, a skate instructor. Randy is teammates with Waters and Miller from the first two books in the series and Lily is friends to Sunny, the heroine from book 2. Randy and Lily had hooked up in book 2 and this is the continuation of that relationship. Since they’re around their friends a lot, they do keep running into each other. Randy thinks he can’t commit to a relationship so he tells Lily right away that if she starts to develop feelings she needs to tell him so he doesn’t hurt her. Of course he doesn’t count on himself developing feelings! I liked this one. Randy had some issues besides being a commitment-phobe and Lily was a strong character. She was afraid she wasn’t because she likes her comfortable bubbles but she grew as a character. Book 5, Pucked Off, comes out at the end of the month so I’m playing catch up with the series.

blindfoldiat

Blindfolded Innocence by Alessandra Torre

After reading two Alessandra Torre books back to back last week, I couldn’t resist picking up Brad Deluca’s book. He’s a minor character in Hollywood Dirt and he makes an impression. LOL So Julia is an intern at a law firm and the partner she reports to makes it clear he wants her to stay away from Brad, the divorce attorney partner at their firm. He has a reputation and at first Julia has no problems staying away. But Brad is persistent and he asks her to go to Las Vegas with him for the weekend. For Julia, sex is something she does when she’s in love, so she’s not really into Brad’s style of casual sex. However, he is a charming man and he does win her over. When they return to their normal nine to five, Julia distances herself from Brad because although she’s attracted, she wants a commitment. Brad wants Julia but he knows himself and that he’s not one for monogamy. Can Brad get the best of both worlds? This one ends on a bit of a cliffhanger I found but I still enjoyed it. I liked Julia and Brad together. And there’s an age difference, which I love. haha

New to the Book Stackssevenej

Seven Minutes in Heaven

Currently Readinglookgroup.jpg

Looking for Group by Alexis Hall

That’s my week in a nutshell. How was yours?

About Bookish Ames

I'm just a girl, living in her bookish world. With two awesome sidekicks, Maximus and She-Ra.
This entry was posted in week in review. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week in Review: Jan 23 – 29

  1. Rowena says:

    I didn’t know that Brad Deluca has his own book?? That’s awesome. It sounds good, I want to read it! Thanks for sharing some quick thoughts on the book. I’m going to check it out. Ooh, I hope you like Seven Minutes in Heaven as much as I did. 🙂

    How was your night out? Are you guys going to keep in touch or nah?

    Like

  2. Kailana says:

    Some weeks I am really chatty and then other weeks I don’t really talk at all on the weekends. My life is boring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

